My Favorite Small Thing

Creative Commons picture by Jpmatth

Creative Commons picture by Jpmatth

Imagine one item in your life that can transport you into worlds you didn’t even know existed. I’m not talking virtually such as the land of Narnia or something crazy like that. No, I’m talking castles, cobblestone, the jungle, busy streets, and people riding around on donkey and camel backs, anywhere. The item I’m referring to is my passport. Wrapped in blue and stamped up, this little book is my key to the world. Small enough to fit in my pocket or purse but large enough to control whether or not I get to step on the plane; issued by the United States government that little blue book has opened my eyes to more than I could have imagined, and helped me out in a few sticky situations. The things I’ve been able to do and the sights I have been able to see thanks to that small book are vastly larger than anything I could have pictured. Only a few years old my passport is easily my favorite travel accessory, and even though our relationship has been short in comparison to other things in my life, I know that this little book and I are in it for the long haul. While many people in the world own one of these little books each one is unique and yours, it tells your story. No two books will be the same, ever. In the Marine Corps creed, the first line reads, “…There are many like it, but this one is mine.” And even though they are talking about a rifle it can be applied here, you keep it safe; it is a part of you, yours and yours only. It is your own key to a passageway you are paving for yourself. Traveling is the key to the most open minds and the deepest understanding. Without a passport of your own all the worlds wonders will never be yours to explore. The possibilities are endless once you get your hands on one of these little guys. Okay so the logistics of obtaining one of these little bad boys for yourself; you have to have a little bit of cash on you at the time of application, and some identification. Then you have to fill out a kind of lengthy form telling the government who you are and BAM there you go. Give it to the person behind the desk, and in four to six weeks, you can be the next Louis, Clark, or Sacagawea in the history books. Or maybe you can be the next person to discover a new species of bird in the Jakarta Jungle or marine animal in the Black Sea, maybe you could time yourself and set the new record for how fast you can climb to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Now don’t get me wrong, the United States is pretty cool and you can see some great stuff without a Passport, I mean we have Time Square, St. Louis Arch, Space Needle, and the Statue of Liberty. However, and I may be biased, but there is something so much cooler about a piece of architecture older than anything the United States as to offer. It doesn’t matter where you start; you just have to take that first step. If you’re still not convinced, I’ll leave you with this quote,

“if you don’t know where you are going, any road will get you there” – Lewis Carol

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Small Thing

  1. I love how beautifully you described the adventures that a passport can take you on! Though I have yet to use my passport to its true extent, your post makes me want to pack my bags and go somewhere exotic and exciting. Where has been your favorite place to travel? From the way you describe your passport, it sounds like it gets a lot of use.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isabella, I think my favorite place I’ve put my passport to use to would have to be Germany. I was in Berlin for a few days and fell in love with the city. It’s beautiful, young, and full of so much history. Such a facinating city to walk through and see what it has gone through.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I love your take on traveling. I can really relate traveling for me has been such an enlightening experience and I think it is an opportunity everyone should take up. I know that when I went to Spain my view of the world grew so much. It is crazy how different other cultures are and how much fun it is to explore them. It is almost like your passport is a mini key to the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

