Like a good neighbor…Statefarm is there

Ever since I can remember I’ve enjoyed watching commercials. I like how they speak to an individual or a group. For last couple years I’ve been completely mesmerized by Don Draper and company as they come up with storylines and develop entire plots all in order to sell a jacket or purse to the public. One thing that has worked on me to sell me anything, for as long as I can remember, is a catchy tune. I can think of a few off the top of my head that I’ll probably remember for the rest of my life. Stanley Steamer and Empire Carpets have done a nice job selling me a carpet cleaner and a carpet to clean, even though I’m not currently in the market for either of those. Another aspect to this whole song within an ad system is using a song everyone knows and can relate back to your brand. In order for this to work, however, the song has to be modern if you’re selling to a younger audience, or something classic if selling to an adult audience. I never really have even thought about the legality of using a song to sell a product to a mass market, but I feel like it would be a great marketing tool. I think that using a song would be flattering to the artist, rather than something they would avoid. Having your song publicized through a product and played to the masses, it could help grow your song and you as an artist. Looking at the laws is interesting, as the copyright lasts for so long after the artist is gone, that the song would no longer be relevant to the audience. I assume that using a song for a commercial would cost a lot of money, and I think a good way to get attention is to use a well-known song. What a cycle. A new up and coming company that could benefit from using a song that everyone knows, in order to stay in the minds of people, cannot necessarily afford to buy a song. At the same time though, someone who can afford it, may not have to use a song to capture the audience’s attention. There are a lot of company’s that have created their own jingle to sell their product. One that I think anyone who has watched television in the past few years can sing back to you is the ever loving, Like a good neighbor, State Farm is there. I suppose that it is possible to accomplish a mind sticking song without having it also on a record sold to the masses, or played every hour on a top 40 station. I think that people should own their songs and have rights to them; of course, they ‘ve worked hard to make that what it is. I think that people should share their works, to help each other out. If your song is catchy, than it’ll help sell the product, and it will be stuck in the heads of millions.

4 thoughts on “Like a good neighbor…Statefarm is there

  1. I can’t stop laughing at your post! I’m the girl who can sing along with the commercial and remember the slogans for even the most random of products and businesses. (Farmers only.com for example!) What’s incredible to me is that I don’t even realize that they have gotten me with the hook, line, and sinker to their product. I forever remember them and the item all because of a two line song that is beyond cheesy. You are not alone!

    Like

  2. I agree! Yes, a company can be just as influential in capturing your attention or business with a catchy jingle they created, but I so love the commercials where the company ties in a catchy song that we can relate to- whether it’s a current song on the radio or a rad song from the 90’s that instantly makes us think of the time of our scrunchies and jelly shoes! Both methods can grab our attention in different ways- a jingle can get stuck in our head and we are helpless to stop the progression of it repeating over and over and over, which makes us remember the company or product/service they are offering. Additionally as I began to identify, when a company uses a tune that we already know and have heard of before, we begin to relate to the company’s ad purely because the song they used acts as a bridge and we enjoy the commercial (which can result in our business) because we link our positive vibes with the song to the company’s ad/product/service. So I am all for the use of a band’s or musicians songs in a commercial, of course only if they asked for permission to use it. But I see it only as a win-win for both sides- the company gets positive feedback for providing their audience with a song they enjoy, and the band/musician’s business may get revived as a current or new audience results from hearing a song they enjoyed during the commercial. (By the way, my guilty sing-a-long commercial is National American University’s… “One day, one night, Saturday’s alright…) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I completely agree with this and the other comments! I think that it is so easy to get customers to remember you by your own individual jingle and it is crazy to think that others would want to take that from them. I think it is important that they have the rights to this and so do all of the other creators.

    Like

Leave a Reply

