PJ Murphy’s – Deliciousness in every bite

Having grown up in a small town, I completely know the value of having some place to call your own. The little store at the end of the stree where you can walk in and be greeted by your first name, and they know your favorites before you even ask. Having a place like this to go is a great way to feel at home in your community, which I think is important to everyone. Being shuffled around a lot as a kid and young adult, but always having a place to come back to, made me feel like I had a stable place to call home.

I recently moved yet again, 3 weeks ago to be exact, and I think I’ve found my store down the street. This time the place is a bakery, filled with delicious breads, donuts, cakes, cookies, and smiling faces. It’s family owned and they hire young college students to come in and sell their delectable baked goods. You can tell by the way the shop is set up and run that it’s held together by a very close-knit group of people. The bakery itself is not small time, even though it’s the feeling you get when you walk in the door. My roommate recently got a job working behind the counter and has been telling me all about the business they have going on. Aside from the storefront, which sells out of their baked goods almost every day, they make and sell personalized cakes. They design and make everything from a small birthday cake to a large wedding cake, serving hundreds of people.

Birthday Cake

Having a roommate working at PJ Murphy’s Bakery has turned out to be both a blessing and a curse. On one hand, I get to tell you all about how wonderfully delicious their products are and rave about the glaze they use on their donuts. Oh and I get to say that their whipped cream frosting is so smooth and creamy and not too sweet. I also get to say that their apple fritters are to die for and the chocolate frosting is divine. … She gets to bring home what’s left at the end of the day (for free). Needless to say her two other roommates are encouraging her to work there forever. The curse of all this is that I need to spend more time at the gym now. The food is just too good to resist.

I guess being around for 80 years and perfecting what you love to do is a great way to maintain a business. The people at PJ Murphy’s are hard working bakers who get enjoyment out of making their customers happy. Even though I haven’t had a lot of time to explore their full selection of items, I can assure you that I understand how they’ve been in business for so long. I look forward to working with them on our IMC plan to learn more about a well established company and how they’ve managed to keep the business going so well for so many years.

2 thoughts on “PJ Murphy’s – Deliciousness in every bite

  1. The way you put up all the details of the stuff they have in the bakery makes me want to go there right away. They sound delicious! . For my short time here this might become my favorite place for deserts too. I loved how you put up the details, whipped cream and stuff , you could definitely do them good marketing. You bought me. Loll

    Like

Leave a Reply

