Pictures are worth a thousand words, or so they say.

Social Media has corrupted our world in an incredible way; we get our information at the speed of light, it has become our addiction too. Almost everyone carries around their little device full of information everywhere they go, and feel naked without it, I know I do. I can’t not know where my phone is, it freaks me out. I use it for my camera, to talk to my friends and family, and to connect with the world around me. My addiction of choice is Instagram, hands down, no contest. I check it as soon as I wake up, and it’s the last thing I look at, at night. I use it to connect with my friends, to stalk (used lightly) celebrities I’m intrigued by, and I follow stores to follow trends and they post plenty of sales via their Instagram accounts. I don’t remember a time before Instagram.

One aspect that I have come to truly appreciate is the place stamp or GPS tracker that it wpid-screenshot_2014-12-01-21-31-44.pnghas built in. When I post a picture to my account it shows up on a little map and later on you can see where you were when you posted it, it’s really fun for me to see.

wpid-screenshot_2014-12-01-21-31-24.png

Also recently I have collected some of my friends abroad, different time zones, different schedules, all busy lives but I can see what they are up to. I love it. You can say so much more with a smile, or a pose, than you can in a 140-character tweet. It means a lot to me that I can stay so connected with people who have come to mean so much to me when we all are so busy. Instagram has been a virtual map for me, and a way for me to see what people are up to. It’s fast and fun to flip through, and I really hope that it stays as a constant social media platform for a few more years at least.

This being said, it is very universal. You don’t need to speak the same language to enjoy the same picture. This why art is so globally appreciated.  If I take a crazy picture in front of the spoon in the Sculpture Garden, my Czech friends can appreciate it because it is ridiculous, and not for my punny caption that is some American idiom that doesn’t make sense to someone who doesn’t speak English as their first language. This is becoming more and more important to me as my personal network grows.

Even though it is so personal for me, I follow a lot of stores, like I mentioned before. I think it is a great tool for them to advertise with, as they can show their merchandise with a quick little caption, or promote their store very easily. It is also a very inexpensive way to get your message out; there is no fee to be a member on Instagram and it’s a very easy social media site to navigate.

Overall, I really appreciate Instagram for all the silly things I get to do, like ogle at Harry Styles for hours without his knowledge, but also the fact that I get to be connected with people in a really fun, filter filled way. I see their lives through a sepia colored image, just as intended. Thanks Instagram, for all you do.

Leave a Reply

